The Mayor of Olive Hill, Kentucky, Danny Sparks, has resigned from his position after undercover officers caught him in a drug selling sting near a school.

Could someone seemingly safe be selling drugs to your kids? Learn the street terms and listen to what your kids or their friends are saying.

Officers say that Sparks sold them marijuana just 1,000 feet from Olive Hill Elementary.

While Sparks called the incident a big mistake, he resigned his post following the arrest.

The Journal-Times published a copy of his resignation letter.

“Due to a very bad mistake that I have made tonight, and have failed the trust of the good people of Olive Hill, my friends and most of all my family, I have decided with deep regret to resign tonight as Mayor of Olive Hill. I hope that everyone will understand that I have always tried to do the very best for Olive Hill and hope that the people will understand that I will always try to continue to help in any way possible to better this City regardless of what position I may serve. What happen(ed) tonight is something I have never done before and deeply regret it and hope to move on.”

Drugs can send good people down the path of making poor decisions.

